Get Your Body Ready for Winter

photo

As much as many of us would like to deny it, winter is coming. And once it’s here it’s going to stay here for a while. So I’ve been reading up on how to protect the body from the cold, dry air that comes with winter. I’ve found some great ways to protect your body this winter!

The great thing about all these ways to winterize your body are ways that I’ve already talked about for how to protect your skin. The main problems for my in the winter is dry hair and dry skin, so I was excited to find some simple ways to stay as naturally beautiful as I can!

For hair, the fix to end winter dryness is as easy as air-drying hair after a shower. Hairdryers can often strip moisture out hair and leave brittle, split ends. Also, try only washing your hair every other day to keep it as hydrated as possible. To get a little extra hydration, use the coconut oil hair mask that I talked about in my previous blog!

For the face, make sure to moisturize after every wash. You can do this by using the DIY body scrub that I made in a previous blog of mine or by getting a heavier moisturizer for the winter months. Lotus Moon also has a great hydrating gel that’s vegan, gluten-free, and non-GMO.

TIP: Use my DIY body scrub not only on the face, but all over the body to protect from dry knees, shoulders, and elbows that are often forgotten during our everyday beauty routines.

photo-1

While making sure the face is protected, don’t forget about those lips! Make sure to apply my DIY lip exfoliator an extra night of the week during the colder months. I found a neat, little portable humidifier that doesn’t take up much room at all and stuck it on my make-up table next to my bed.

Also to protect your skin, try sleeping with a humidifier at night. This not only improves the tone and texture of your skin, but the added moisture to the dry air helps protect you from unwanted sinus problems.

Lastly, try to avoid long, hot showers and baths. While they do feel good when it’s cold out, too much exposure to hot water during the winter can make for dry skin. Also to protect the skin, don’t forget about sunscreen! Yes, it sound irrelevant in the winter, but the sun’s rays are still harmful to skin in the winter. An easy fix it to look for beauty products that also have sunscreen in them, but a little extra sunscreen never hurt anyone!

Hope these simple tips help to protect your body this winter! Together we can beat the dry, frigid weather.

Stay Beautiful!

Leave a comment